Scheduling System: VB.NET/SQL Server

jpetter7

Programming Experience
Beginner
I am working on a program that will be used to check out company vehicles. Users will go online and pick out their vehicle, dates, times, etc. The problem I am having is this:
When the user clicks submit, how can I search the dataset to ensure that a vehicle is not going to be reserved by two different people at the same time?? Any ideas/ suggestions would be very much appreciated and THANK YOU in advance!

One quick idea is to use a second dataset and search for the selected vehicle in the DB. Obviously if the dataset returns a row, you found it and the vehicle is already reserved...

I hope this quickie answer helps.

Actually, that is where my problem lies... I am new to VB and don't know how to search a dataset and check for any conflicts. If you could help with that, it would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

No problem, I will include a small example of what I am talking about.

I did not use sql parameters assuming you may be getting the data from text boxes or some control. You can always adapt but this should give the idea.
Also, I made a couple of assumptions about the DB you may be using.

Dim mySqlAdapter As SqlDataAdapter
Dim dsCkRsvns As DataSet
Dim myCmd As SqlCommand

myCmd = New SqlCommand
With myCmd
.CommandType = CommandType.Text
.CommandText = "Select * From Auto_Reservations Where ID = '" & Id & _
"' And ReserveDate Between ('" & beginDate & "' And '" & _
endDate & "')"
.CommandTimeout = 100
.Connection = siteCn
End With
mySqlAdapter = New SqlDataAdapter(myCmd )
dsCkSites = New DataSet
Try 'get all current Reservations for selected car
mySqlAdapter .Fill(dsCkRsvns, "Auto_Reservations")
If dsCkSites.Tables(0).Rows.Count > 0 Then
' Found car already on reserve
Else
'Continue with reservation
End If
Catch Err As Exception
'Place error trapping here, probably found no data
End Try

I hope this does the trick...

Noleman

Last edited:
hello jpetter,