Saving data in real time to table - plotting it also.

bmind

Programming Experience
Beginner
I am relatively new with VB (only the 3[SUP]rd[/SUP] week since I started learning) and have tried to find some info on what am trying to do but it has proven to be very difficult. Have created a little program in VB that will display in label boxes measurements that am taking in real time. These are numbers and text (ON/OFF state). What I want to do is:

1. Create a table inside a database that I have created in SQL server 2008. Name table according to date of measurements taken.
  2. Want to get the data measured in real time and populate the table (every half a second).
  3. Table will have a minimum of 4 columns. The simplest case with 4 columns.

1. First column will be ID number (datapoint number – incremented by 1 with each datapoint added )
  2. Second column will be time of measurement (every half a second)
  3. Third column will be a number measured (display 2 decimals in table?)
  4. Forth column will be a State measured (ON or OFF) text.
  5. Save the table in data base when complete – Am not sure if I need to do that or it is automatically done.

IDTimeVoltageState

At the moment I can read from the device and display numbers/text in label boxes. Once I have done the above want to display a real time data graph of the measurements (numbers only) taken (for one measurement) plotting value vs time. One step at a time…
Let me know if have not provided enough information as am still very much learning the basics of vb.

Am currently using:
Visual Studio 2010 express
Microsoft SQL Server 2008

You're wring from step 1 I'm afraid. You would never do anything like that. You would handle it in one of two different ways.

1. Have one table for all measurements and include a date column. Each time you insert a record you include the date of the measurement. To retrieve all records for a particular date, you filter on the date column using your WHERE clause.