returning sql print statements to windows form

barmanvarn

Programming Experience
5-10
I'm fairly new to vb.net but am old hand at t-sql. I like to put print statements in my stored procedures so that I can monitor certain variables, etc, as the code executes.

I'd like to call a stored procedure from my windows form and display the print statements in a text box as they occur. Is this possible? I already know how to call the sproc. I just need to know how to capture the prints statements as they occur and display them on the form.

thanks in advance

The InfoMessage event displays the PRINT statements, only found a C# example here: http://www.java2s.com/Code/CSharp/Database-ADO.net/HowtousetheInfoMessageevent.htm

DeveloperFusion conversion gave this VB.Net:
VB.NET:
[FONT=Courier New]Class InfoMessage [/FONT]

[FONT=Courier New]Public Shared Sub InfoMessageHandler(ByVal mySender As Object, ByVal myEvent As SqlInfoMessageEventArgs) [/FONT]
[FONT=Courier New] Console.WriteLine("The following message was produced:" & Microsoft.VisualBasic.Chr(10) & "" + myEvent.Errors(0)) [/FONT]
[FONT=Courier New]End Sub [/FONT]

[FONT=Courier New]Public Shared Sub Main() [/FONT]
[FONT=Courier New] Dim mySqlConnection As SqlConnection = New SqlConnection("server=(local)\SQLEXPRESS;database=MyDatabase;Integrated Security=SSPI;") [/FONT]
[FONT=Courier New] AddHandler mySqlConnection.InfoMessage, AddressOf InfoMessageHandler [/FONT]
[FONT=Courier New] mySqlConnection.Open [/FONT]
[FONT=Courier New] Dim mySqlCommand As SqlCommand = mySqlConnection.CreateCommand [/FONT]
[FONT=Courier New] mySqlCommand.CommandText = "PRINT 'This is the message from the PRINT statement'" [/FONT]
[FONT=Courier New] mySqlCommand.ExecuteNonQuery [/FONT]
[FONT=Courier New] mySqlCommand.CommandText = "RAISERROR('This is the message from the RAISERROR statement', 10, 1)" [/FONT]
[FONT=Courier New] mySqlCommand.ExecuteNonQuery [/FONT]
[FONT=Courier New] mySqlConnection.Close [/FONT]