Question Retrieved bytes sent and received

pejalz

Programming Experience
Beginner
hi everybody..

i am new user in this forum.I am a student and now i trying to develop my project course that to develop a system that will retrieve bytes send and received on my LAN with Function GetIfTable.

i have an error about this code..can anybody help me???
here i also attach my files..

thanks in advance for helping out of this problem

Attachments

• my problem.zip
    22 KB · Views: 50
Upside: You can do this with NetworkInterface class of System.Net.NetworkInformation namespace, sample:
VB.NET:
'Imports System.Net.NetworkInformation

Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load
    For Each ni As NetworkInterface In NetworkInterface.GetAllNetworkInterfaces()
        If Not ni.NetworkInterfaceType = NetworkInterfaceType.Loopback Then
            Me.i = ni
            Me.Text = "monitoring network interface: " & i.Description
            Timer1.Start()
            Exit For
        End If
    Next        
End Sub

Private i As NetworkInterface

Private Sub Timer1_Tick(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Timer1.Tick
    Dim stat As IPv4InterfaceStatistics = i.GetIPv4Statistics
    Me.lblRcvd.Text = "Bytes Received: " & (stat.BytesReceived \ 1024).ToString("n0") & " KB"
    Me.lblSent.Text = "Bytes Sent: " & (stat.BytesSent \ 1024).ToString("n0") & " KB"       
End Sub
Downside: you have to upgrade to at least .Net 2.0. (but there are many benefits :))

Thanks johnH...its great, but i don't know how to use .net 2.0 in vb.net 2003. i already installed .net framework 2.0 but the vb.net 2003 does not detect the .net 2.0. Is it the vb.net 2003 does not support framework 2.0? Please help me..i must develop this by using vb.net 2003.

Yes, you have to use VB 2005 or 2008, they are free for starters (Express) so no reason not give it a try.

Hi,