Retrieve data from fields in MS access DB

themouse

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello Everybody,

I am new to this forum and although I am a novice with VB, step by step I am leraning the basic concepts of programming with VB.

I need help... obviously. I have create a query with the tableadapter in my VB app for a login form:

Dim login = Me.UsernamePasswordTableAdapter1.LogInCheck(TextBox1.Text, TextBox2.Text)

If login Is Nothing Then
MsgBox("Login Incorrect", MsgBoxStyle.Exclamation)
TextBox1.Clear()
TextBox2.Clear()
Else
Me.Hide()
Form2.Show()

End If

Everything works fine so I went on with my project. I have created a form to retrieve user and pw. With the following script I have been able to create what is necessary to send an email to an address filled by a user through a text field . Perfect even for this, everything works fine (codes are partials and my intent was just to give you a rough idea of the code I have been using):

ProgressBar1.Value = 10
Dim mail As New MailMessage()
ProgressBar1.Value = 17
smtpServer.Credentials = New Net.NetworkCredential("xxxx@gmail.com", "password")
ProgressBar1.Value = 23
'using gmail
smtpServer.Port = 587
ProgressBar1.Value = 27
smtpServer.Host = "smtp.gmail.com"
ProgressBar1.Value = 40
smtpServer.EnableSsl = True
mail = New MailMessage()
mail.From = New MailAddress("xxxx@gmail.com")
mail.To.Add("xxxx@gmail.com")
mail.Subject = "test"
mail.Body = "test"
smtpServer.Send(mail)
ProgressBar1.Value = 100
MsgBox("mail Sent!")
ProgressBar1.Value = 0
TextBox1.Clear()

Now the problem is that what I need to do is not exactly to send an email to an address typed by user. In fact, what I really need is the following:

1. User enters an email address in a text field and press a button -- done works OK

2. Through tableadapter query it checks if the email address is in the DB, if not it returns with an error (same concepts as for user and pw check) -- done works OK