Require some opinions, new to database

bopo

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi people

Basically I have designed an application, this application has 2 purposes

• Allow users (around 50) to submit problems, which are then stored in a database
  • Show administrators (me) the data which has been inputted, and to allow data (rows) to be deleted and manipulated via a form (Screen Print Below)
1.jpg

I am a total noob when it comes to database, I have never, ever used one before, as mentioned above, I would like the program to save, delete and allow me to manipulate data via combo boxes (see screen print)

Please could anyone reccommend the best method of implementing this (MS Acess, SQL etc) and any Internet based or paper based resources which would help a noob like me :eek: .

Input appriciated :)

As you are new to databases, you need to make sure you get your underlying data structure to a good level before even thinking about the front end.

I'd suggest you try and search the net for "Relational Access databases". I'm thinking that SQL Server is far too advanced for what you want to do, and it's a lot more complicated and expensive than MS Access.
I've not used a VB front end on an access database yet, I was lucky enough that one of our servers was running SQL for a business system and I just piggybacked onto that.

As a "noob" to databases :) you need to make sure you understand all the terms of databases - especially relational and normalisation.

Normalisation is where you would write down all the data you need to store, and then try to remove all duplicate fields, and creating a seperate table with this data, and using a relation to link them.
A good example of this could be;

A sales shop wants to store all sales and customers that made a purchase.

Instead of the table looking like this;

ProductType | ProductName | PricePaid |CustomerName |Address

Game --------- Halo 2------- £24.99----- Luke----------- UK