record appending with datagridview

divjoy

Programming Experience
1-3
Hi,

I'm using vb.net 2010 with sql server 2008 express with ado.net to access the tables and store in a dataset.
I have a master detail form with a datagridview. The datagridview allows users to add as many new rows to the grid as they like and I know how to then to commit the new rows back to the database.

But I have a problem in mydatagrid view I have 2 hidden columns, 1 is the primary key of the details table, which I can ignore as the database creates this when the new rows are added and the second is the Client ID of the master form that also needs to be stored in the details table back in the database.

How do I got about adding the ClientID to the dataset for each new row added to the datagirdview before committing the 'changes' back to the database?

Regards

You need to have a DataRelation defined in your DataSet that mimics the foreign key in the database. Your DataTables should be configured to auto-generate the IDs just like the database and then those values can be used in code until the final values are generated by the database. When you add child records, you just use the ID from the parent record as normal. You configure your data adapters to refresh the DataTable with the final IDs generated by the database and you configure the DataRelation to cascade on update. Then, when you save the parent record, the ID from the database gets pushed to the parent DataTable and from there to the child DataTable. You can then save the child records as they now contain the correct parent ID. Here's a quick example of how everything should be configured:
Dim data As New DataSet
Dim parentTable = data.Tables.Add("Parent")
Dim childTable = data.Tables.Add("Child")

'Add the key columns.
Dim parentPrimaryKeyColumn = parentTable.Columns.Add("ParentId", GetType(Integer))
Dim childPrimaryKeyColumn = childTable.Columns.Add("ChildId", GetType(Integer))