Reading/Writing user data to an XML file server-side

Germcloud

Programming Experience
1-3
I am new to silverlight and have spent 4-5 days trying to find an answer. But here is what I'm trying to do.

As a simple project to help me learn, I wrote a small AdLib silverlight appliction. Basically, you're asked 10 questions and the program constructs a short story from your answers.

Now I'm trying to expand it. What I want to do now is allow the player to create their own story template and save it online to the webserver so others can choose from a list of user created stories to play with. They will be presented with a list of titles from other users that they can choose.

The application will display a simple form in which they enter their name, story title and story template. I then what my program to add their information to an existing xml file to be saved.

XML file I think might look like this:

<userdata>
<user id="000">
<name>Jeremy</jeremy>
<title>The Detective</title>
<story>short story template here</story>
</user>
<user id="001">
<name>James</jeremy>
<title>A Walk in the Park</title>
<story>short story template here</story>
</user>
</userdata>

Once they save their story, the program will add a user id "002" and the three elements with their information, name, title, story to the file.

So, I started researching, I thought starting off using a simple xml file instead of some database would be simple. But I kept running into road blocks, either code that I found was in C# and I didn't know enough to understand it, or it was using something called WCF or LINQ to SQL and databases, which I didn't want to use.

When I thought I found the answer, using XmlReader and XmlWriter, it turns out it's only using Isolated Storage on the user's computer, which I didn't want. I thought to embed the xml file as a resource inside the application, got the reading part down, but couldn't seem to write to it.