Question Reading/Parsing XML

Zeeprah

Programming Experience
Beginner
Sorry for the long XML file, but it's what I'm working with :smile: - it actually contains more races than that, but I've shortened it down to just a few races. What is basically is, is a horse meeting, which contains it's races and the horses which ran in each race.

I'm used to working with and seperating .csv files and have secured that, but the way things are going it's looking like I'm going to have to begin reading XML files and updating the database accordingly. Anyway, I'm a beginner to XML and vb .NET as a whole (a few month experience) and should probably not be jumping into such a complicated XML file so early on - I'll post my code below, and if somebody could point me in the right direction as to where I'm going wrong (probably a lot) and possibly provide me with some code/tutorials that will help me tackle this XML file then it would be much appreciated.

What I'm looking to do is populate three different structures; Meeting, Race and Horse, with the corresponding information from the XML file. I can solve the database updating afterwards by myself, I believe (hopefully) :wink:

Public Sub ExtractionService(ByVal spfile As FileInfo)
        Dim strreader As New StreamReader(_sendpathname & spfile.Name, System.Text.Encoding.UTF8)
        Dim xmlreader As XmlTextReader = New XmlTextReader(strreader)
        xmlreader.WhitespaceHandling = WhitespaceHandling.None

Dim xmldoc As New XmlDocument()
        xmldoc.Load(xmlreader)

Dim xml_nodelist As XmlNodeList = xmldoc.GetElementsByTagName("/HorseRacingCard/Meeting/Race/Horse")

Dim mStatus As String
        Dim mID As Integer
        Dim mCountry As String
        Dim mCourse As String
        Dim mDate As Integer
        Dim mDrawAdvantage As String
        Dim mAdvancedGoing As String

For Each mxmlnode As XmlNode In xmldoc.GetElementsByTagName("Meeting")
            mStatus = mxmlnode.Attributes.ItemOf("status").InnerText