progress bar to reflect status of program

hshawa

Programming Experience
1-3
Hi guys, I am fairly new to VB.net. Trying to write an application that is supposed to test some issues with a POA. long story short, I have an array of type long that is initialized, and values are set as the program executes. I want a progress bar in a form to be able to continuously read this array (which is globally declared) and make the changes on the progress. The problem seems that form does not show at all, the updating code is in the form_new event handler in the form.

This form is created and loaded by a function that runs on a new thread while the program executes.

I have read about background worker, but the thing is that the main time consuming program is the one who invokes the form and not vice versa, this is why i chose threading.

Any tips?

Thanks

The BackgroundWorker simplifies for you the task of reporting progress in UI thread, just set WorkerReportsProgress to True and handle ProgressChanged where you do any UI reporting.

The BackgroundWorker simplifies for you the task of reporting progress in UI thread, just set WorkerReportsProgress to True and handle ProgressChanged where you do any UI reporting.

Thanks for the reply,

I am aware of using background worker. the thing is that my whole main program needs to do complicated work that depends on alot of user input. So i cannot simply create a background worker for that. This is why I want to use threading. when the main program starts executing (when an OK button is clicked), i want to invoke a separate thread that can read an array and depending on the progress there, update the progress bar.

this is the code for the function that runs on a separate thread to load the progress form:
VB.NET:
  [COLOR=#0000ff]Sub[/COLOR] progressForm()

[COLOR=#0000ff]Dim[/COLOR] frm3 [COLOR=#0000ff]As[/COLOR] [COLOR=#8515ea]New[/COLOR] Form3
        frm3.Showdialog()

[COLOR=#0000ff]End[/COLOR] [COLOR=#0000ff]Sub[/COLOR]