Pricing Maintainence Services

Ken McLean

Programming Experience
5-10
I am a beginning developer building a custom solution for my first client using Visual Basic.Net 2005 and SQL server 2005. I am looking for a ball-park estimate of what I should charge a year to maintain the product as a percentage of the original development cost. Maintenance would invlove correcting bugs, minor enhancements, updating and re-configuring web page content.

Any suggestions would be most helpful. Thanks.

Ken McLean

This is more of a general developer question than anything to do with VS or VB. I've moved it to the Contracts forum as that's about as close as this forum gets to this subject matter.

im just curious... why would you charge a flat rate / year? wouldnt that be a possibility of making you lose money... why wouldnt you just charge an hourly rate? i would think that would be a fairer way of doing things, that way they get what they pay for and you dont work overtime unnecessarily...

i am only a begginner maybe you guys would know more, but that is my opinion

what do you think

have a good one

regards
adam

Last edited:
Charging a flat rate will only make you lose money if your software or documentation is cr*p. If you release well-written software with good documentation then there should be very little reason for your users to need to contact you. If you charge an hourly rate then you get nothing, or next to nothing.

If you charge an annual maintenance fee then you are locking your users into your product, ensuring that they upgrade regularly as you release new versions. This means that you never have to support anything but the latest version and it also nesures that your users will continue to use and pay for your product. They will not simply stick with an old version to save money and they are less likely to switch to a competitor.