Question Potential form refresh problem

robtyketto

Programming Experience
Beginner
Greetings,

I have a form with a background image set.
A panel containing FIVE picture boxes aka the dice
Another panel containing 17 labels aka the score categories

The picture below is a better representation than my muddled words.
onpaintissue.png

When I click the button each picture box is assigned an image (randomly) from an Imagelist and the labels.text property is updated for the labels in the other panel.

Im a newbie to vb.net and really out of depth when it comes to graphics as never stray from the built in controls or automatic form repainting.

When I press the button the form flickers/white flash which I believe might be a form refresh problem.

I believe the onpaint even would be called to redraw all the graphics when ever a property or method is called for a control.

What steps can I take when updating so many items to keep the form redrawing cleanly?

Any advice and tips would be appreciated.

I want to learn more about graphics and once I have the knowledge I would like to be able to change the border style or draw around the border region to increase the thickness of the black line.

As seen in the pic 2 of the dice are highlighted via the borderstyle property which isn't quite as obvious as I would like.

Also if anyone has some beginners threads/tutorials about graphics to learn from that would be good too.

Oh, how do you resolve a thread?

Sorry for ALL the questions in one post!!

Cheers
Rob

Most likely you're looking for Double Buffering.

You can activate it for your form by easily set the property.

Bobby

Thanks for the reply.
Found the propery and set it.

It has helped but the flicker occurs albeit less frequently.

On another note I didn't say that all the controls have the transparency set where allowed (see diagram below).

transparentcontrols.png

Now doing some further reading on double buffering.