Pause a program without sleeping

jimmygoska

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hey,

I'm pretty new to VB and have had a lot of trouble with this program i'm writing. The problem that I'm encountering right now is that I can't seem to get my program to wait for a couple seconds for another application to load before it starts to check if it's open. Here's what I've got (feel free to tell me its a terrible way of writing!):

VB.NET:
Private Sub Running_Shown(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Me.Shown
        Main.Enabled = False
        ProgressBar1.Style = ProgressBarStyle.Marquee

Dim path As String = System.Environment.CurrentDirectory
        Dim yes As String = "cmd /K CD " & path & "\OASIC & oasicer hammer_8_8.txt"
        Dim fullpath As String = path & "\OASIC\oasicer.exe"

Shell(yes, AppWinStyle.NormalFocus)

System.Threading.Thread.Sleep(500)    <--------- This is the problem

Dim ProgramRunning As Boolean = True
        While ProgramRunning = True
            If ProcessesRunning("oasicer") = 1 Then
                ProgramRunning = True
            ElseIf ProcessesRunning("oasicer") = 0 Then
                ProgramRunning = False
                MessageBox.Show("It's closed!", "Done", MessageBoxButtons.OK) ' = Windows.Forms.DialogResult.OK Then Me.Dispose()
            End If
        End While
    End Sub

ProcessesRunning is a function that just checks the existance of a process called "oasicer".

So if I don't have the sleep function then oasicer hasn't loaded and it says it's finished straight away, but if I call a 5s sleep then it crashes, and not for just 5 sec. Is there a replacement for this line? Something that would just delay going to the while loop?

Any help is greatly appreciated!
Thank you for your time!

Use Process Class (System.Diagnostics) instead of Shell function. As for "waiting" you can either listen for the Exited event of the process, or start it in a secondary thread and where you call WaitForExit method.