Passing Values Between Forms

palehorse

Programming Experience
1-3
Hello All,

To start off, I am new at programming.

I have a school project that has me stumped and for some time now at that.

Form1 has textboxes and a button. When the button is pressed, thevalues of these textboxes are passed to the textboxes on Form2. WhenForm2 loads, it creates a child form, Form3 and at the same time,passesthe values of Form2's textboxes to the textboxes in Form3.There is abutton on Form2 and when pressed, it passes the values of Form2'stextboxes to Form4. Form4 then loads and the load event generates asimple message.

This all works the first time around, however - the second time around,I change the values of Form1's textboxes and click the button...Form2shows them fine, the child form, Form3 does not and when I click thebutton on Form2, the values are passed to Form4 fine, but the loadevent of Form4 doesn't happen?

Form1:
VB.NET:
Public Class Form1
    Inherits System.Windows.Forms.Form
'Windows Form Designer generated code

Private FirstForm As New Form2

Private Sub btnShowForm_Click(ByVal sender AsSystem.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btnShowForm.Click

FirstForm.Label1.Text = Me.TextBox1.Text
        FirstForm.Label2.Text = Me.TextBox2.Text
        FirstForm.Label3.Text = Me.TextBox3.Text
        FirstForm.Label4.Text = Me.TextBox4.Text

FirstForm.Show()

End Sub

Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

End Sub
Form2:
VB.NET:
Public Class Form2

Private ChildForm As New Form3
    Private MessageForm As New Form4

Private Sub btnClose_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btnClose.Click

Me.Hide()

End Sub

Private Sub btnShowForm_Click(ByVal sender AsSystem.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btnShowForm.Click

MessageForm.TextBox1.Text = Me.TextBox1.Text
        MessageForm.TextBox2.Text = Me.TextBox2.Text