Question Passing optional parameters to nested functions

Shankar_R

Programming Experience
10+
Hi,

I am new to VB.NET. I have coded extensively in Excel VBA and have outgrown it, hence migrated to VB.NET. I want to implement strongly typed collection types in .NET. The recommended way is to start with Systems.Collections.CollectionBase, but I need the flexibility to get an item through both a numerical index and a key string, similar to the VBA collection.

Since the latter is available in VB.NET, but not inheritable, I thought why not make use of it and wrap it in my own collection class. So I use the following (doesn't implement all methods, but only Clear, Count and Add for the sake of illustration):
Class MyGenericColClass
        Protected MyCol As New Collection
        Public Sub Clear()
            MyCol.Clear()
        End Sub
        Public ReadOnly Property Count As Integer
            Get
                Count = MyCol.Count
            End Get
        End Property

Public Sub Add(ByVal X As Object, Optional ByVal Key As String = Nothing, Optional ByVal Before As Integer = Nothing, _
                          Optional ByVal After As Integer = Nothing)
            MsgBox(Before = Nothing)
            MsgBox(After = Nothing)
            MyCol.Add(X, Key, Before, After)
        End Sub
    End Class

Now consider the 'Add' method. For the VBA Collection object, the various permissible syntax are
Dim Col1 as new Collection
Col1.Add "Hi"
Col1.Add "Hi", "Key1"
Col1.Add "Hi", Before:=1
Col1.Add "Hi", After:=1

but not
Col1.Add "Hi", Before:=2, After:=1

even though the following seems to work
Col1.Add "Hi",Before:=Nothing, After:=Nothing