Question Output variable stored procedure

adarsh_fj

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi all, this is my first post to this forum and my first experience with SQL Server and Visual Basic.net programming. I am really new to this so please bear with me. i have written a stored procedure as below and i want to retrieve the value, but i am confused as to how to do this. I have sql server express edition.

create procedure [dbo].[Access_Level]
@Username nchar(10),
@Password nchar(10), @Access_Level int output
as
begin
select @Access_Level= Access
from User_Control
where Username=@Username and [Password]=@Password
end

can some1 please guide me from here, i need this stored procedure to return the value of @Access_Level to my .net program. please also find the .net coding as below.

sqlcomm.CommandType = CommandType.StoredProcedure
sqlcomm.CommandText = "Access_Level"
sqlcomm.Connection = sqlconn

sqlcomm.Parameters.Clear()

sqlcomm.Parameters.Add("@Username", SqlDbType.NChar, 10).Value = username
sqlcomm.Parameters.Add("@Password", SqlDbType.NChar, 10).Value = password
sqlcomm.Parameters.Add("Access_Level", SqlDbType.Int).Direction = ParameterDirection.Output

level = sqlcomm.ExecuteScalar
sqlconn.Close()

please also tell me if i am doing smthing wrong here too. thanks

There's no point using an output parameter in that sproc. Just change this:
VB.NET:
select @Access_Level= Access
to this:
VB.NET:
select Access
and ExecuteScalar will return the value you want.

thank you very much sir, it works now. Sir, just a request, if you would tell me, if i want to use a output variable then how do i use it, just for educational purpose. thanks once again