OR operator trouble and confusion.

trueone55

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello Everyone,

First I'd like to mention that I am currently a networking/IT student and am currently taking an intro to programming class that is required as part of the curriculum. I am by no means a programmer so please forgive my ignorance.

I am currently working on an assignment that states the following
1. Get mobileProvider
2. Get dataOption
3. Set dataPackage to true or false
4. If mobileProvider is equal to 1 AND dataPackage is equal to True, then display they have selected ATT with a dataPackage.
5. Else if mobileProvider is equal to 2 OR dataPackage is equal to True, then display they have selected Sprint or they have selected with a Data Package.
6. Else if mobileProvider is equal to 3 AND dataPackage is equal to False, then display they have selected Verizon and No Data Package.

This algorithm is the 3rd and final step of a console program assignment. I "bolded" the part that confuses me the most.
Here is the code I have written so far (please be gentle).

VB.NET:
If mobileProvider = 1 And dataPackage = True Then

Console.WriteLine("You have selected ATT with a Data Package")

ElseIf mobileProvider = 2 Or dataPackage = True Then

Console.WriteLine("You have selected Sprint")

ElseIf mobileProvider = 3 And dataPackage = False Then

Console.WriteLine("You have selected Verizon and No Data Package")

End If

Notice I have left out the second part that states "or they have selected with a Data Package" because I just can't figure out how to make it decide between which statement to display.

Thanks in advance for your tips and suggestions.

Last edited:
OR means either one or both can be true. If you use AND (as you did) then it means that both of them must be true. But what happens if only one of them is true? You should use separate ElseIf statements for each of the 2 options.