obtain the website visitors AD username and run SQL commands via another AD service account

damientaylor

Programming Experience
10+
I am new to vb.net development. However I have run into a bit of an issue that I am hoping has a simple answer.

Issue:
The requirement is to be able to obtain the users AD username by enabling Windows Authentication and Pass Thru Authentication.

This works perfectly when I set this up and the website is able to obtain my username via the command when I access the site:
System.Security.Principal.WindowsIdentity.GetCurrent()

However I also have a requirement to access SQL server without storing the password in the connection string via the web.config file. No storing of plain text passwords.

I have therefore created a new AD account (domain\appsportaluser) and changed the connection string to the following:

<add connectionString="Server=xxx1-s-sql01;Database=testdb;Integrated Security=true" name="connectionstring_testdb" />

However it appears for this to work I also need to setup a service account and need to set this to (a) the identify of the Application Pool and also (b) set the website connect as to this same AD credential.

Therefore we setup an AD account: domain/Appsportaluser and set it to the application pool identify and the connect as on the website.

Testing this works fine and allows the SQL queries to be run successfully.

However the issue is that by setting this, the AD account returned by the following command is domain/appsportaluser instead of the actual users AD username in the following function:
System.Security.Principal.WindowsIdentity.GetCurrent()

Therefore I have no longer an ability to authenticate the user against the AD account as it is no longer passing the AD account to the application.