Null Reference Exception on using Adobe3D Reviewer class

noobe

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello All,

I am new to programming in VB. I am trying to use the Adobe3D reviewer built in class in my code. I need to use a method of the class so I am trying to create an object. However, when I try to use the object to access the method I get this error:

System.NullReferenceException was unhandled.Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

I am not sure where I am going wrong. Any suggestions/comments will be greatly appreciated.Here is my code snippet.

VB.NET:
Module Module1
   Sub Main()
    Dim attVal As New Object
    Dim geomItemObject As Adobe3DReviewer.GeomItem
        geomItemObject = Nothing
      attVal = "value"
 //The error is thrown at this line.
   geomItemObject.AddAttribute("hi", attVal)

What does a NullReferenceException mean? It means that you tried to access a member of an object via a null reference, i.e. a variable that is Nothing. Can you see anywhere in your code that you have a variable that is Nothing that you try to access a member of?

What does a NullReferenceException mean? It means that you tried to access a member of an object via a null reference, i.e. a variable that is Nothing. Can you see anywhere in your code that you have a variable that is Nothing that you try to access a member of?

Thanks, for the reply. I tried to comment the line geomItemObject=Nothing but it didn't work.

I also, tried creating a new object using: Dim geomItemObject As New GeomItem.
However, this gave an error:'Adobe3DReviewer.GeomItemClass.Friend Sub New()' is not accessible in this context because it is 'Friend'.

I am not sure how to access a class which is 'friend'?

Commenting that line out will have no effect because all variables are Nothing by default, so the line is redundant anyway.