NewBe Need Help With Const and Val

WackoWolf

Programming Experience
Beginner
I am new to Vb. The question I have might seem stupid to most but I am lost and need some help.

This is what I have for the code.

VB.NET:
[SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]Const[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2] Adult = 30

Adult = (Val(TextAdult.Text) * Adult)

It is saying that for Adult in the beginning of "Adult = (Val(TextAdult.Text) * Adult)"
This is what it says "Constant cannot be target of an Assigment"

How can I write this so that I don't get this error?
Before I try to you Const I had no problems running the code, but now that I want to use "Const" I have errors. What am I doing wrong?

Any and all help would be cool.

Thank You
WackoWolf

[/SIZE]

first off you should be declaring variables as a type, such as:

Adult As Integer = 30
or
Adult As Decimal = 30

while declaring a variable you should give declare what scope it is by adding: Dim, Private, Friend, Public in front of it all

if it's being declared in a sub routine then the Dim keyword should be used, if it's at the top of a module or class (form) then the Private, Public, Friend should be used such as:

Private Adult As Integer = 30

if you have a variable that you want to set a value and that value can't be changed then you add the word "Const" in the declaration of the variable:

Private Const Adult As Integer = 30

in your case you're using the Const keyword, meaning the value can't be changed which is why this line:
Adult = (Val(TextAdult.Text) * Adult)
is giving you and error, if you change this line:
Const Adult = 30
to:
Dim Adult As Integer = 30 it'll work

also when changing a variable type to another (like a string to an integer, which is what you're question is based on) you should use the Convert methods, i'm assuming that all you need is an integer which means you'd use Convert.ToInt32 instead of Val

VB.NET:
Dim Adult As Integer = 30
Adult = Convert.Int32(TextAdult.Text * Adult)