needs help automating WebBrowser

aff219

Programming Experience
Beginner
Disclaimer: I'm a noob to programming, just got a load of freetime (became self employeed woo!) and decided to learn something I've always wanted to learn. Therefore, I need gentle yet thorough guidance please.

I decided to join a browser based game (name will be left out in all this) and use it as a learning block for this.

I've accomplished quite a lot in my program, but I'm stuck between a rock and a hard place now.

2 big issues I'm having:

Issue 1 - Locating target values and navigating to their assigned URL.

Relevent HTML Code:
VB.NET:
<map name="ValueMap">
     <area alt="USE B 11" href="region.php?reg=2">
     <area alt="open" href="region.php?reg=3">
     <area alt="open" href="region.php?reg=4">
     <area alt="USE C 324" href="region.php?reg=5">
     <area alt="open" href="region.php?reg=6">
     <area alt="USE D 32" href="region.php?reg=7">
     <area alt="open" href="region.php?reg=8">
     <area alt="open" href="region.php?reg=9">
     <area alt="open" href="region.php?reg=10">
     <area alt="open" href="region.php?reg=11">
     <area alt="open" href="region.php?reg=12">
</map>

Notes:
the Alt value is able to contain similar and exact terms as each other. For instance, 2 may be "open", some might be "use b 11", some might be "use b 12" etc

What I want:
1.navigate webbrowser1 to the url contained in the first area tag that has an alt with my searched value.

So if I want to find "D", the program will grab
<area alt="USE D 32" href="region.php?reg=7">
and use its url to navigate in the web browser.

I've had partial success with this with 3 different methods, but all lead to an issue i cant get around so I'm willing to start fresh. The best way ive had yet was with this code:

VB.NET:
Dim Items = _
( _
From T In Form2.WebBrowser1.document.GetElementsByTagName("alt").Cast(Of HtmlElement)() _
Where T.GetAttribute("href").ToString.Contains("region.php?reg=") _