need help with tax calculator

jaywarren

Programming Experience
Beginner
need help with this, I am to wright the code for this calculator. I am new to VB and not sure how to do this, up till now the code was given to me. I am lost as how to make this work. any help would be great.

¾ Required:
¾ Hot key/Short cut keys on buttons
¾ Right-justify all numbers
¾ Declare the constants as class level constants – for County and State tax rates
¾ Format Sales with 2 decimal places
¾ Format all tax answers with dollars/cents
¾ Form Load event –
a. Load 0’s in the sales textboxes and the tax labels answers, set focus
¾ Clear event –
a. Load 0’s in the sales textboxes and the tax labels answers, set focus
¾ In the Calculate Click event
a. Use try/catch logic to catch garbage data being entered
i. If bad data – display a MessageBox, 0’out all tax labels, set focus back to the sales amount
ii. If data is ok –
1. Calculate the county taxes
2. Calculate the state taxes
3. Calculate the total sales taxes
4. Display all calculated amounts with dollars/cents

Thanks

test.png

No one will do your homework for you. Prepare the form and double-click the Calculate button to open an event. Then start writing your code. Post the code you have here and ask specific questions about which part of it doesn't work.

You need to get the user's input from the textbox. Calculate the results to display in each of the labels. Then output the results to the labels.

I understand that, I am just lost with this class. The first two I did I had the code given to me. This is the first time I need to come up with the code. But I don't understand how to do the math for this one much less how to code it right. I did build the labels and buttons. I did write the code that I knew, but that is very little. I am in a on line class and unable to get any help from any teacher. I have looked all over the net for how to layout the code for this type of calculater with no luck. I am very lost with VB.