Need help with program for small business

Zach1188

Programming Experience
1-3
My sister owns a small business, and (as a cashier) she is currently using hand written invoices for receipts and records. She knows I have some basic programming knowledge, and would like me to make her a program that would make it easier on her. Ultimately, it's going to log sales, and anything else to make taxes easier on her, which she is also doing manually at this time.

That will probably be a few weeks from now, for now what I want is to be able to have a Category, Subcategory, and Product system using ListView boxes. Ie. In the first ListView will be general categories, ie "food". Under the category "food", there will be the subcategories "pizza", "fish", and "pasta". Under the subcategory fish, there will be the products "salmon", "trout", and "cod". The user can highlight cod, click "add item" twice. The first time adding it to the receipt ListView box with a quantity of 1, the second time changing the quantity to 2.

Now the idea here is to make the contents of the ListView boxes depend on the selection in the preceding ListView box. If the user chose the Pizza subcategory, he would have the products "cheese", "pepperoni", and "mushrooms" in the product list box. If he chose "beverages" on the first ListBox (general category), he would get different choices entirely.