Need help setting a value to a textbox in another form

emaduddeen

Programming Experience
Beginner
Greetings Everyone,

I'm doing an application for a school to help them keep track of student attendance and because I'm rather new to VB 2008 .NET I'm sure I'm missing something simple.

Please see the screen shot and attached sample application showing the problem I am having.

The screen shot shows 3 open forms. I'm not able to get the value from the 3rd open form into the Student ID textbox of the 2nd form even though my messagebox shows a value is really in there.

The attached application has 3 forms similar to the production application I'm writing which also includes 3 forms. Could you look at the application and tell me what we are missing to get the textbox data in the 2nd form to show up?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Truly,
Emad

isgl1.jpg

Attachments

• ChangingTextInParentFormFromChildForm.zip
    18.8 KB · Views: 10
Last edited by a moderator:
From the DataGridView in form one (Assume this is DG1 on Form1 and that the Column is called Student_ID and is an integer)

VB.NET:
Addhandler DG1.DoubleClick, Addressof MyDGResults

Assume that the receiving form is Form2 and the textbox has the name TB1

VB.NET:
Private Sub MyDGResults(byval sender as Object, byval e as EventArgs)
Dim vID as integer = DG1.SelectedRows(0).Cells("Student_ID").Value

'If the TextBox control is dynamic, find it 
Dim vObj() as Object = Form2.Controls.Find("TB1", True)
Dim vTB as TextBox = vObj(0)
vTB.Text = vID

Hi gchq,

Thanks for the reply.

I'm trying a event handler for the first time using your code but am confused about how to proceed because VB wants the use of the "New" keyword when running the application.

Can you tell me if I placed the code in the correct places?

Please see the attached screen shot.

Truly,
Emad

Attachments

• using the handler.jpg
    using the handler.jpg
    389.3 KB · Views: 16