Need help making a Windows Form App

junfanbl

Programming Experience
1-3
Hello, everyone. I have some basic knowledge of VB.Net and some experience here and there making some different apps. Nothing fancy. However, I really need some help putting together a windows form app. I was trying to accomplish a specific task using a console app. I am designing an excel workbook that utilizes some remoting functionality. It is supposed to work based on sheet selection change events, where a selection change is made and it sends data to another program for processing.

The remoting functionality itself works great. The issue is what kind of application do I use to monitor the worksheet for changes, and transmit the data? Initially I wanted to use a console app, that would launch when the workbook is opened, and monitor the sheet for selection changes. That worked okay for a short time. I had to force the console app to stay open using Console.ReadKey() so it would have enough time to respond to the selection change. However, after that, Excel would just freeze up until I closed the console app. So that was no help. The App needs to stay open as long as the workbook is open.

So I thought, why not use a Windows Form App? Ideally, I would like to launch the windows from app from an excel macro when opening the workbook. However that isn't a requirement.
I could launch it outside of Excel completely if it is easier.