Question multithreading

suja

Programming Experience
1-3
Hi All
I am new to multithreading concept in VB.NET. I am writing a code to compare multiple excel sheets. I came across a problem where in time taken to compare a single excel is 7 min, for two excels it is 14 and so on... Even after using threads its the same. What is the problem with my below code. can any one please help
Public Class Form2
Inherits System.Windows.Forms.Form
Public Shared Property xlTmp3 As Excel.Application
Public Shared Property xlWb As Excel.Workbook
Private Threads(256) As Threading.Thread
Private CompareClassObjects(256) As CompareClass2
Private Sub Button4_Click_1(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button4.Click
Dim cr As Integer
Dim CheckedItemArray1(2), CheckedItemArray2(2) As String
Dim start As Date = Date.Now
Dim totalTime As TimeSpan
CheckedItemArray1(0) = "C:\excel1.xlsx"
CheckedItemArray2(0) = "C:\here\excel2.xlsx"
CheckedItemArray1(1) = "C:\ excel11.xlsx"
CheckedItemArray2(1) = "C:\here\ excel21.xlsx"
xlTmp3 = CreateObject("Excel.Application")
xlWb = xlTmp3.Workbooks.Add
xlTmp3.Visible = True
For cr = 0 To 1
CompareClassObjects(cr) = New CompareClass2(cr, CheckedItemArray1(cr), CheckedItemArray2(cr))
Threads(cr) = New Threading.Thread(AddressOf CompareClassObjects(cr).CompareStart)
Threads(cr).IsBackground = True
Threads(cr).Start()
Next
For cr = 0 To 1
Threads(cr).Join()
Next
Dim end1 As Date = Date.Now
totalTime = end1.Subtract(start)
MsgBox("COMPARISON PERFORMED!!! " & vbCrLf & "Total Time Taken : " & totalTime.Duration.ToString, vbOKOnly, "Status")
End Sub
End Class
Public Class CompareClass2
Public xlTmp1 As Excel.Application
Public xlTmp2 As Excel.Application
Public xlSht1 As Excel.Worksheet
Public xlSht2 As Excel.Worksheet
Public R1, DiffCount, SheetCnt As Long
Private value As Integer
Private firstexcel, secondexcel As String
Public Sub New(ByVal number As Integer, ByVal text1 As String, ByVal text2 As String)
value = number