Menu Strip Newbie Question

batutabunsing

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello everyeone.

I am a newbie with regards to development and programming and I have chosen the path of Winforms and VB.Net.

Currently, I am developing an application. This application has a main form, where there is also a menu item. The menu item corresponds to opening the different windows.

I think they call this development MDI..

Anyway, I got a few questions which I think most of you would be able to answer right away.

In my main form, I have a menu setup like this:
Requests
-- Car
-- Service
Schedule
-- Daily
-- Monthly
Reports
-- Transport
-- Travel
-- Allowances

Now, When I click on menu item for example Requests | Service, i am supposed to open a win form named frmService.

I double click on the menu item and the following code comes out.
VB.NET:
Private Sub menu1_Click(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles menu1.Click

End Sub

As you can see, I want to know which menu item I have clicked so that i could open the appropriate window.

Like for example:

VB.NET:
Private Sub menu1_Click(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles menu1.Click
       ' Requests | Service item clicked
	   frmService.Show()

' Schedule | Daily item clicked
	   frmDailySchedule.Show
 End Sub

Next question I got is this..

Since we know that the parent form contains the menu above, I have a different set menu for my other winforms.

Like for example in my frmServices, there will be a menu whose structure is this
Machine
-- Computer
-- Fax
Office Equipment
-- Tables
-- Chairs

So that when the frmService window is opened, the menu which is displayed on the main parent will become the menu of the child window

I hope you guys and gals could give me advice.

Thank you.