Loop Through Question need some help please.

meow

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello

I am a newbie to vb .net. I am using visual studio 2010. what I am trying to archive is

1- create a small application which finds out if Microsoft office and adobe pdf is installed on the local machine. If it is install i want it to show in the text box on the form. I did manage to find a application which does the search of the local machine and finds everything installed on the local machine and shows the list in the text box on the form. But I just want to know 2 programs and show only that in the text box on the form so what came across from reading various forum is that I have to loop through the text box 1 which show list of program installed on the local machine and display them on text box 2 while making text box 1 small size and put it behind text box 2 so text box 1 on the form doesn't show up. my problem is i did find this code in

Private Sub FindLoop() Dim intFound As Integer = 0 Dim rng As Word.Range = Me.Content rng.Find.ClearFormatting() rng.Find.Forward = True rng.Find.Text = "find me" rng.Find.Execute() Do While rng.Find.Found = True intFound += 1 rng.Find.Execute() Loop MessageBox.Show("Strings found: " & intFound.ToString()) End Sub
but it errors out the rng as word.range. and it ask define word range.

Please help me out
Thanks

I mean the advice you took about using 2 textboxes, one smaller box hidden behind another containing the raw data to be filtered..

Also, you said:

I did manage to find a application which does the search of the local machine and finds everything installed on the local machine and shows the list in the text box on the form.

I want you to post the code from this application here so I can help you understand what it does and where to modify it to make it do what you want to do.