Looking to help someone

rhm54

Programming Experience
Beginner
I am a brand new graduate from Troy University with a BS in Computer Science. However, I really feel like the knowledge I have gained from this degree is similar to an overview. I would like some real world experience with VB .NET programming so that I feel more comfortable with the language.

Is there anyone that is looking for an intern to help them with anything? I don't want money, I just want the experience. If there is someone out here that could use me just let me know.

Yes keep looking for an intern spot or even an entry level position. Dont dummy down your skills to much, employers know what entry level is.... Other then that I would suggest starting some projects on your own. You can gain some experience & familarity with the language while at the same time building a collection of sample work you can then show for interviews.

I would suggest perhaps not even a full application but perhaps a bunch of smaller snippets them demonstrate different things such as database functionality etc... If you want post your snippets up here afterwards, you will get no shortage of people coming forth to critique your work and point out what could be improved upon.

I guess my problem is two fold. I don't have confidence in myself and I don't know what sort of thing I should work on to give the most benefit

Plenty of stuff to work on, your imagination is the only limit. However I suggest smaller examples that either can be submitted to sites such as this to help others. Not only are you helping others at that point, your gaining a deeping understanding of the subect matter yourself.