Link/Synchronize combobox and textbox

routman

Programming Experience
1-3
Hi all,

I am fairly new to VB.NET and I am VERY new to all of this SQL/ADO stuff and need help. I have a SQL DB table that has 5 fields... ID, Product Type, Product Name, Product Code and Product Description

I have a windows form with a combobox and textbox on it. I am populating the combobox with the Product Code field contents using VB code (I think this is called "unbound"?) based on a SELECT filter (see code below). I would like to populate the textbox with the Product Description from the same record that was selected in the combobox.

I thought this would be as easy as setting the DataBindings:Text property of the textbox to the same binding source I am using to populate the combobox, but it does not work. I get an initial value in the textbox, but the textbox value does not change when a new value is selected in the combobox.

VB.NET:
Dim strSQL As String = "SELECT [Product Code] FROM ProductCodes WHERE [Product Type] like '%DT%'"
Dim da As New SqlDataAdapter(strSQL, conn)
Dim ds As New DataSet
da.Fill(ds, "ProductCodes")

With cboProdCode[INDENT].DataSource = ds.Tables("ProductCodes")
.DisplayMember = "Product Code"
.ValueMember = "Product Code"
.SelectedIndex = 0
[/INDENT]
End With

Can someone give me some tips on getting this to work?

Thanks in advance!

I think this is called "unbound"
It's the opposite, i.e. you are binding the data. Data-binding means creating a relationship between the data in a control and the data in a list of some sort such that any changes in one will be propagated to the other. By setting the DataSource of any control you are binding it. Obviously using the DataBindings property is data-binding.