Issue with Downloading zip file using webclient

renjithmadhavan

Programming Experience
Beginner
I am very new to VB.net . I am trying to use system.net to download a zip from a website . I am using the following code .
VB.NET:
Private Sub Button2_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button2.Click

Dim filename As String = TextBox1.Text
        Dim dest As String = "C:\test.zip"

Dim name As String = "http://www.Source URL/test.zip"

Dim wr As HttpWebRequest = CType(WebRequest.Create(name), HttpWebRequest)
        Dim ws As HttpWebResponse = CType(wr.GetResponse(), HttpWebResponse)
        Dim str As Stream = ws.GetResponseStream()

[B]   Dim a As Integer = ws.ContentLength

Dim inBuf(a) As Byte[/B]
        Dim bytesToRead As Integer = CInt(inBuf.Length)
        Dim bytesRead As Integer = 0
        While bytesToRead > 0
            Dim n As Integer = str.Read(inBuf, bytesRead, bytesToRead)
            If n = 0 Then
                Exit While
            End If
            bytesRead += n
            bytesToRead -= n
        End While

Dim fstr As New FileStream(dest, FileMode.OpenOrCreate, FileAccess.Write)
        fstr.Write(inBuf, 0, bytesRead)
        str.Close()
        fstr.Close()
        MessageBox.Show("Downloaded Successfully")

End Sub

I am doing something wrong here . The zip file is getting downloaded but the size is not correct . How to know the size of the file I download and assign to my buffer . Is there any other way to do this . Please help ..

Your thread title says that you're using a WebClient but your code says that you're using an HttpWebRequest. They are two quite different things. Why not just use a WebClient?
VB.NET:
Using client As New WebClient
    client.DownloadFile("http://www.Source URL/test.zip", "C:\test.zip")
End Using

Hi ,
Thank you for the response ...
I used webclient also ...