IP for network computers

ImDaFrEaK

Programming Experience
5-10
I am a noob for network programming. I have maybe a stupid question. I have been able to get my computer to communicate via ip, however; now I have a home network in which the router is the owner of the ip i guess. Does each computer attached to the router now have it's own IP address? And if so, is this the address I give to another computer around the world to use? I'm a lil lost but any info will help.

Routers usually got DHCP that give each local computer a local network IP address, while the router itself receives one IP from the ISP. For this basic setup all local machines are seen with the common IP outside the router.

For applications where they have to connect to your public IP, you usually open (default security is closed) a route by the router for connection of a local IP and port.

For instance you may have public address x.x.x.x, two locals y.y.y.2 and y.y.y.3, a local FTP server at y3. For public to connect to your FTP at x.x.x.x you will configure the router to route incomming requests to port 21 to the local y.y.y.3.

Can this be done by code in the program? Basically I want to build a messenger as a sample program. I want the messenger to work peer to peer. I type in their IP and port and they do the same. But will they have to setup up their router also everytime? Or did i confuse what you said a lil bit.