inherits.system.windows.forms.usercontrol

mshahid

Programming Experience
Beginner
i am new in vb.net. i could not find the window where i find inhetirs.system.windows.forms.usercontrol.

kindly help me

Thanks

Dear I want to develop custom TextBox Control i could not find control code window in which i changed

Inherits system.windows.forms.usercontrol to inherits TextBox

You don't change that. Either you're creating a UserControl or you're creating a custom TextBox. If you're creating a UserControl then add a UserControl to your project and leave it as a UserControl. If you're creating a custom TextBox, or any other custom control for that matter, then just add a Class to your project and then add the Inherits line to the one and only code file. Here's an example of where I did exactly that:

Numeric Text Box

No UserControls in sight.

I could not understand which you mention. thanks for your advice but I wanted to build focusedtextboxcontrol.

Below mention is the task which I performed. Kindly let me know where is the problem.

First I insert the windows control library after inserting usercontrol.vb file is appear then I rename the usercontrol1.vb to focusedtextbox . Then I insert the customcontrol but when I go to view code I could not find the inherits systems.windows.Forms.usercontrol1. so where I changed inherits.Textbox

Please let me know where I make mistake.

Hi,

To extend the functionality of an existing control all you have to do is add a new class to your project and then inherit the object type that you want to extend. In your case what you need to do is add a class called FocusedTextBox and then use the following example:-

Public Class FocusedTextBox
Inherits TextBox
'add your additional embellishments here
End Class

Hope that helps.

Cheers,

Ian

Thanks dear

with your help I build the Focused TextBox control. but the problem is the when i run the focusedtextbox the usercontro library is appear. not focusedtextbox which i build.