Question How to save changes in database after editing datagridview

TCarlo

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi,

I'm new to programming vb.net. And i wont to try to save changes that i have made in a datagridview to my database.
Only, it it is not working. No changes are saved to the database. However the datagridview is filled with the results of my query.

My source looks like this:

Imports System
Imports System.Data

Public Class Form1
Dim ConDBF As OleDb.OleDbConnection
Dim ConCMD As OleDb.OleDbCommand
Dim DataAdap As OleDb.OleDbDataAdapter
Dim myDs As New DataSet()
Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load
Dim ConStr As String

ConStr = "Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;Data Source=c:\TST_MAP\ITEST3\;Extended Properties=dBASE IV;User ID=Admin;Password="
ConDBF = New OleDb.OleDbConnection(ConStr)
ConCMD = New OleDb.OleDbCommand("SELECT * FROM Leerling WHERE NAAM Like '%ormans%' and VOORNAAM like '%rl%' ", ConDBF)

DataAdap = New OleDb.OleDbDataAdapter(ConCMD)
DataAdap.Fill(myDs, "Leerling")
BindingSource1.DataSource = myDs.Tables("Leerling")

DataGridView1.DataSource = BindingSource1
End Sub

Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
DataAdap.Update(myDs, "Leerling")
End Sub
End Class

What do i have to do to save changes made in my datagridview to my database?

Thanks in advance!
Carlo

Most likely the changes are saved and you are just looking in the wrong place or at the wrong time. First, test the value returned by your Update call. If no exception is thrown then it is succeeding, so the result must be either zero, in which case there were no changes to save, or non-zero, in which case there were changes and they were saved. If it's the latter, follow the first link in my signature to learn how to manage local data files.

Thanks fo the reply!