How to make setup file?

shehzad

Programming Experience
10+
I have made a Calculator , and i want to install this calculator in other winodws machine , so how can i make a set up for this?

VS2003: add a setup project to the solution.
VS2005: publish it with the included clickonce wizard

Wow I just realized you can't compile a standalone EXE in .NET... that's freaking horrible (I just started learning vb.net). I'm about to just do VB6 instead...

n3tw0rk said:
Wow I just realized you can't compile a standalone EXE in .NET... that's freaking horrible (I just started learning vb.net). I'm about to just do VB6 instead...
What are you talking about? Of course you can compile an EXE. All .NET applications require the .NET Framework installed to run, which is what makes them .NET applications, but VB6 apps require the VB6 runtime files, so what's the difference? The .NET Framework is larger, but it also provides many times the functionality.

I was mistaking, because I couldn't find out how to compile it. And then I was reading it could only be deployed as an installation file, but I think I figured it out. I think it's pretty stupid that you can't just simple quickly compile an EXE.. you have to add a project setup to the solution and build it.
I think I like VB6 better so far.. VS6 runs smoother than VS 2003, and it seems a lot cleaner.

Last edited:
n3tw0rk said:
I was mistaking, because I couldn't find out how to compile it. And then I was reading it could only be deployed as an installation file, but I think I figured it out. I think it's pretty stupid that you can't just simple quickly compile an EXE.. you have to add a project setup to the solution and build it.
I think I like VB6 better so far.. VS6 runs smoother than VS 2003, and it seems a lot cleaner.