Question How to: Invoke a Delegate Method

RGM

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello all,

As I'm new (both to VB.net and the forum) my apologies upfront for not using the correct terms, I'm reading up as fast as I can but will need some help and guidance.

Now for the question: I'm trying to fill a TreeView in the background using the BackgroundWorker. My code worked as expected before moving it to the BackgroundWorker after which I immediately encountered the "Action being performed on this control is being called from the wrong thread...." error.

I used the guidance from the "How to; invoke a Delegate Method from: How to: Invoke a Delegate Method but can't get it to work. The "wrong thread" error has disappeared but instead my code now seems to "hang" at the actual adding of the TreeNode to the TreeView (line 11 of the code below:

FRM_BrowseRegistry.TV_Registry.Nodes.Add(NodeName)

I’m hoping somebody can point me in the right direction (again keeping in mind I’m a newbie at programming)

Thank you in advance, Ruud.

Imports Microsoft.Win32

Public Class FRM_BrowseRegistry
    'Create a Delegate
    Delegate Sub TV_RegistryAddNodeDelegate(ByVal NodeName As TreeNode)

'Declare a class that contains a method with the same signature as the delegate
    Public Class ShowtreeNodeClass

Sub ShowTreeNodeMethod(ByVal NodeName As TreeNode)
            FRM_BrowseRegistry.TV_Registry.Nodes.Add(NodeName)
        End Sub

End Class

Public Sub FRM_BrowseRegistry_Load(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

BackgroundWorker1.RunWorkerAsync()

End Sub

Public Sub BackgroundWorker1_DoWork(sender As Object, e As System.ComponentModel.DoWorkEventArgs) Handles BackgroundWorker1.DoWork

'Get registrykey for HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT'  
        Dim vRegKeyClassesRoot As RegistryKey = Registry.ClassesRoot
        'Create TreeNode and get its child nodes in CreateNodes method '  
        Dim ClassesRootParentNode As New TreeNode(vRegKeyClassesRoot.Name)