Question How to highlight data in datagridview column cell

andimanro

Programming Experience
1-3
dear all..

is it possible to highlight the data in datagridview column cell after we type some characters in datagridview filter bar ?
please give me a sample code how to do that...

Thnx in advance

read this article How to: Host Controls in Windows Forms DataGridView Cells

it may be more time consuming than what you want (isn't it always) but by creating your own column/cell objects you can customize behavior. you could most likely base your new class on the DataGridViewTextboxColumn / DataGridViewTextboxCell objects and just extend the functionality.

good luck!

Last edited by a moderator:
dear roccoman..
thnx for the reply...

can you give me a sample code how to solve my problem ? coz i'm still a newbie in vb net and i'm still didn't get how to implement the code on the link you have post...

thnx in advance

not at work atm but the jist is this:

- create your own column class & make it inherit from DataGridViewColumn
- create your own cell class & make it inherit from DataGridViewTextBoxCell

public Class MyCustomTextColumn
inherit DataGridViewColumn
end Class

public Class MyCustomTextCell
inherit DataGridViewTextBoxCell
end Class

this is the start; the example in the link is the exact same thing, only they are creating a CalendarCell object instead.

if the example is too much to understand then i would suggest not going down this road - it would be a big headache.

is it possible to highlight the data in datagridview column cell after we type some characters in datagridview filter bar ?
please give me a sample code how to do that...
If I understand you correctly, you have some kind of search/filter that display relevant rows, and now you want to highlight (BackColor perhaps?) some cells in the displayed rows?
From the sound of it this is what you need to work with: DataGridView.CellFormatting Event (System.Windows.Forms)

Dear John...