Question How the XOR works

Crevitz

Programming Experience
Beginner
I have this code applied into a checkbox:

Private Sub CheckBox1_CheckedChanged(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles CheckBox1.CheckedChanged
Label.Font = New Font("Microsoft Sans Serif", 16, Label.Font.Style Xor FontStyle.Strikeout)
End Sub

The result was the label text style become strikeout. The question is how is it possible that the result is strikeout while using Xor as the logical connective, and what is Label.Font.Style means in this case? It might be silly of me but I started learning VB.Net 5 days ago, so I'm glad if someone would enlighten me. Thank you.

This is one of the more advanced topics of programming you've stumbled on. In short what's going on is it's setting the Font.Style(s) and what's happening is the FontStyle.Strikeout is being "added" to the current Font.Style(s) while keeping the other style(s).
The more technical explanation is that this is what's known as bit operations, the Font.Style property is an integer that holds a value where you can mathematically hold several values and you use bit operations to add or subtract those values from the integer. In this case you're using the Xor to toggle the addition (and subtraction)of the Strikeout based on the changing of the Checkbox's Checked property. Personally I wouldn't use an Xor to just toggle it, I would use an If Else to explicitly set or remove the Strikeout flag from the font:
Private Sub CheckBox1_CheckedChanged(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles CheckBox1.CheckedChanged
    If DirectCast(sender, CheckBox).Checked Then
        'Add the Strikeout
        Label.Font = New Font("Microsoft Sans Serif", 16, Label.Font.Style Or FontStyle.Strikeout)
    Else
        'Remove the Strikeout
        Label.Font = New Font("Microsoft Sans Serif", 16, Label.Font.Style And Not FontStyle.Strikeout)
    End If
End Sub
For more information on the Xor operator: Xor Operator (Visual Basic)