Question How do I prevent the implied INSERT from executing from a databound Datagridview?

robertb_NZ

Programming Experience
10+
I am a relative newbie with VB, having spend more time working with web pages using ASP.NET. I use VS2008.

In my database I had defined a table called "Questions", and I have a windows program with a datagridview (named "gdvQuestions") that displays a single text field from this table. Following my normal practice I have defined a tableadaptor, table, and tablerow called "taQuestions", "tbQuestions", and "trQuestions" respectively, and bound gdvQuestions to this. So far so good, everything works perfectly. However, if you make changes to the gridview, while these are reflected in the tableadaptor (as shown by other gridviews and controls on the form), they were not being updated back to the database. Edits were ignored (as far as the database was concerned), and inserts were causing an error.

I solved the problem for edits with the following code that performs an explicit update. For an existing row, the record key is column 0 (hidden): -

Private Sub gdvQuestions_CellEndEdit(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.Windows.Forms.DataGridViewCellEventArgs) Handles gdvQuestions.CellEndEdit
Dim dgv As DataGridView = DirectCast(sender, DataGridView)
If e.RowIndex >= tbQuestions.Count Then ' New row inserted by entering into the bottom (insert) row of the grid
AddQuestion(dgv.Rows(e.RowIndex).Cells(e.ColumnIndex).Value.ToString)
Else
NTQid = dgv.Rows(e.RowIndex).Cells(0).Value
GetQuestion(NTQid)
trQuestions.NTQText = dgv.Rows(e.RowIndex).Cells(e.ColumnIndex).Value.ToString
taQuestions.Update(trQuestions)
End If

End Sub

If the row exists already we take the Else branch, update the tablerow field within trQuestions, and then update the database with taQuestions.update(trquestions). Works perfectly.