Help with Password Form

zavsam25

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello,

I am new to VB.NET and I need help with my application. I have created a Password dialog box and would like to use it at the start of my application. When the correct password is entered, the entire application closes. How do I fix it so once the password is entered it will continue to the next part of my app and not close? Do I need to use the calling method?

Thanks

Your problem is almost certainly that you have made the login form your startup object. The default behaviour is to close the application when the startup form closes. What you should do is make your main form the startup form. To do this you select your project in the Solution Explorer and click the Properties button at the top. Go to the Application tab and select your main form from the "Startup form" drop-down list.

Now you need to display your login form BEFORE the main form is created. To do this, click the "View Application Events button on the same Application tab. Now select (MyApplication Events) from the drop-down list at the top left of the code window. Select Startup from the top right drop-down list and the IDE will create an event handler for the application's Startup event. This event is raised before the main form is created so you can ask the user to login here and then cancel the application if they fail. The event handler should look something like this:
VB.NET:
Private Sub MyApplication_Startup(ByVal sender As Object, _
                                  ByVal e As Microsoft.VisualBasic.ApplicationServices.StartupEventArgs) Handles Me.Startup
    Using lf As New LoginForm
        If lf.ShowDialog() <> DialogResult.OK Then
            'Exit the application without creating a main form.
            e.Cancel = True
        End If
    End Using
End Sub