Question Help saving html file on server

learnerguy

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi,

I want to be able to update an html file through my application. I get the source code of the website using webclient I tried to post the data once edited using the following I found on the net trying to figure out how to do this.(I am rather new at this stuff)
Function WDRequest(URL As String, method As String, POSTdata As String) As String 
       Dim responseData As String = ""
        Try
            Dim hwrequest As Net.HttpWebRequest = Net.WebRequest.Create(TextBox2.Text)
            hwrequest.Accept = "*/*"
            hwrequest.AllowAutoRedirect = True
            hwrequest.UserAgent = "http_requester/0.1"
            hwrequest.Timeout = 60000
            hwrequest.Method = method
            If hwrequest.Method = "POST" Then
                hwrequest.ContentType = "application/x-www-form-urlencoded"
                Dim encoding As New ASCIIEncoding() 'Use UTF8Encoding for XML requests
                Dim postByteArray() As Byte = encoding.GetBytes(POSTdata)
                hwrequest.ContentLength = postByteArray.Length
                Dim postStream As IO.Stream = hwrequest.GetRequestStream()
                postStream.Write(postByteArray, 0, postByteArray.Length)
                postStream.Close()
            End If
            Dim hwresponse As Net.HttpWebResponse = hwrequest.GetResponse()
            If hwresponse.StatusCode = Net.HttpStatusCode.OK Then
                Dim responseStream As IO.StreamReader = _
                  New IO.StreamReader(hwresponse.GetResponseStream())
                responseData = responseStream.ReadToEnd()
            End If
            hwresponse.Close()
        Catch ex As Exception
            responseData = "An error occurred: " & ex.Message
        End Try
        Return responseData
    End Function

I then tell the program to post the info using
WDRequest("textbox2.text", "POST", "rtbdoc.text")