Help me understand dataset scope

NewToDotNet

Programming Experience
1-3
I am new to the dot net world and I am trying to develop an application that uses a MDI interface. I would like to load data from an Access database into a dataset and use it throughout the rest of my aplication. I am able to populate the dataset from the main form but I cannot seem to bind the dataset to any controls in the child forms. I have decalred the dataset as a public in the main form. In designer view on the child form the data set appears in the Datasource property of the combo box I am trying to fill. I can select all the right field but when I go to run the application, there is no data in the combo box. Am I missing a basic concept regarding the scope of datasets?

Thanks to anyone who might mbe able to help!

A DataSet that you've created in the parent form cannot possibly appear in the designer for the child form because at design time the child form knows absolutely nothing about the parent form. This is straight OOP. If the parent form creates an object, e.g. a DataSet, and you want the child form to be able to use that object then the parent form must pass the child form a reference to that object. If this child form is ALWAYS going to require this DataSet then the logical place to pass this reference is to the constructor. You write a constructor in the child form that takes a DataSet as an argument. Now you have a reference in code to the DataSet that the parent will pass at run time. You cannot use it in the designer. It must all be done in code, so you need to set the DataSource of your controls, etc. in code. Now when the parent form creates an instance of the child form it passes the DataSet as a parameter. For example, in the child form:
VB.NET:
Public Sub New(ByVal data As DataSet)
    ' This call is required by the Windows Form Designer.
    InitializeComponent()

' Add any initialization after the InitializeComponent() call.