GridView Empty

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hey Guys, i am new to all this and very much in need of some advice.

I have constructed a SQL select statement that displays a basic forum structure interface I.E:

Forum Name, Threads and LastPost

But for some reason when i add the SQL statement to the SQLDataSource and then hook the SQLDataSource to a gridview it displays empty.

I have had this working before, but through a serious of individual select statements that use hard coded values which is very ineffeicent.

My SQL select statment as follows:

SELECT TOP (1) ThreadsTable.Subject, MessageTable.Author, MessageTable.Date, TopicTable_1.TopicTableID,

(SELECT Description
FROM TopicTable
WHERE (TopicTableID = @TopicTableID)) AS Description,

(SELECT Name
FROM TopicTable AS TopicTable_2
WHERE (TopicTableID = @TopicTableID)) AS Forums,

(SELECT COUNT(*) AS Expr1
FROM ThreadsTable AS ThreadsTable_1
WHERE (TopicTableID = @TopicTableID)) AS Threads

FROM TopicTable AS TopicTable_1 INNER JOIN
ThreadsTable AS ThreadsTable ON TopicTable_1.TopicTableID = ThreadsTable.TopicTableID

INNER JOIN
MessageTable ON ThreadsTable.ThreadsTableID = MessageTable.ThreadsTableID

WHERE (TopicTable_1.TopicTableID = @TopicTableID)

ORDER BY MessageTable.Date DESC

I hope this can be rectified and Thanks in advance for the advice given.

Regards

Tez

Hi kulrom,

Thanks for the reply, When i execute this statement it asks for a TopicTableID value, which i enter a corresponding TopicTableID which returns 1 resultset.

In a production environment i cannot have a select statment for each TopicTableID with hard coded values to display my Forum interface.

So if the above statement can be crafted with "Group by" clause rather than the "WHERE" clause, it would be so much easier.