get value in combobox

Blesson

Programming Experience
Beginner
I am new to VB.Net and i have a problem. i have created a combobox in a datagrid.
Now i want to view/display/retrieve the value in the combobox. but i am not able to do it .

In VB6.0 we had an option like combobox.Text to get the text but in VB.NET there is no such option for a combox in a datagird.

I am using Visual Studio 2008 and 3.5 .NET framework.

thanks in advance

John A. Blesson

You can use the Value, or FormattedValue if you have different value/display members.
VB.NET:
Dim display As String = Me.DataGridView1.CurrentRow.Cells(0).FormattedValue.ToString

Datagrid Issue

Let me first make my objective clear. I have a datagrid, and the first column is Item Code and it is a combo box. The second column is Item Description and it is Text box. What i want is, when i select an Item code from the combo box, the Item description must be populated correspondingly from the Ms Acesss Databse.

The Name of the colum is Col_ItemCode and name of the Datagrid is Datagrid_Billing.

This is my code
================

VB.NET:
Private Sub dgvEquipments_EditingControlShowing(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.Windows.Forms.DataGridViewEditingControlShowingEventArgs) Handles Datagrid_Billing.EditingControlShowing

Dim cb As ComboBox = TryCast(e.Control, ComboBox)

If cb IsNot Nothing Then

AddHandler cb.SelectedIndexChanged, AddressOf ComboBox_SelectedIndexChanged
        End If

End Sub

Private Sub ComboBox_SelectedIndexChanged(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs)

Dim cb As ComboBox = sender

sqlstatement="SELECT ITEM_DESC FROM ITEM_details where item_code='" & Me.Datagrid_Billing.CurrentRow.Cells(0).FormattedValue.ToString()  & "'"

executequery(sqlstatement)

If cb.SelectedItem IsNot Nothing Then
            Me.Datagrid_Billing.CurrentRow.Cells(Me.Col_ItemDesc.Index).Value = rs.fields(0).value

Else