Question General beginner question on Exceptions

vbDave

Programming Experience
10+
I'll keep my 'apology' short but need to state that I am a part-time programmer just now transitioning to VB.NET from VB6. For my first step into VB.NET I have a 50,000 line program I am converting from VB6 to VB.NET. I now have it mostly running, just now starting the test and debug phase.

My question is basic and has to do with exceptions in general. Am I safe is assuming that if an exception is shown in the debug window but doesn't halt the program operation that it will not cause problems when I compile and deploy on my customer's PC? Certainly, I plan to try to look into as many exceptions as I can. I am assuming that all the exceptions that are being listed in the debug window are being handled by my existing VB6 error handling. I plan to implement Try-Catch where it makes sense but I'd like to avoid making sweeping changes just for the sake of change to the newer error model.

This is a time sensitive deployment and I'll be very nervous if I discover that I still have a huge effort ahead of me in either converting my error handling or finding that the exceptions that don't currently impact the program operation in development mode will haunt me after I compile and deploy.

My next step is to figure out how to package and deploy. The application is only on one other PC but my customer is 200 miles away. But's that's another story, another thread.

Thanks in advance for any help, tips and comments.

PS - this was a rather painful process. The VB6 update wizard handled a tiny bit but I'm guessing I manually modified 5,000+ lines. Huge changes req'd when I replaced the now-obsolete third party controls.

My question is basic and has to do with exceptions in general. Am I safe is assuming that if an exception is shown in the debug window but doesn't halt the program operation that it will not cause problems when I compile and deploy on my customer's PC?