Finding white spots on image

zingalala

Programming Experience
Beginner
well i am new to vb.net programmimng and i am having trouble in detecting how many white spots there on the image ( The image is completely black and there are wwhite spots lining exactly in vertical position)

which method i can use to get it right

I do not think this is offered in GDI+ or anywhere in .NET. There are many third party tools that could find this type of stuff out. Most of which are written in C++ and break the image down into bits to figure out where the spots are and many of them remove the spots (despeckle, dot removal, line removal) However, there is no proprietary method for this in GDI+ that I know about. This is a pretty complicated calculation to make as far as I know.

well i am trying to go with getpixel method here what i have mind is if i go like this

dim b as new Bitmap(Picturebox1.Image)
Dim xw,xh ,x y , k, r as Integer
Dim clr as color
k=0
xw = Picturebox.width
xh = Picturebox.Height
y = 1
For x = 0 to xh-1

clr= b.Getpixel(x,y)
r = clr.R ...............( Red value at a point)

If r <> 0 then
k = k+ 1
end If
Next x
MsgBox(r)

what ia m expecting outcome of this loop would be No. of white spots

but it has not beeen so :(

My logic is that since image is only Black and white when colorvalue at point is not 0 the point must be other than black..........still i am not able to get in the right code

I'm not sure why my attempts wouldn't work for me when I tried to say "if mycolor = Color.White", but this code works. It may not be the best way to do it, but you'll get the idea. You'll need a button, a listbox, and two labels. I just used one of the labels to show the X/Y coordinates while I was testing.

VB.NET:
Public Class Form1
    Dim x As Integer
    Dim y As Integer
    Dim pt As Point
    Dim bmp As Bitmap
    Dim count As Integer

Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs)