Event Raise

mshahid

Programming Experience
Beginner
i am new in vb. I am trying to develop a program which scan files and raise event when new file begin but i got a warning message invalid case exception was unhandled.

following is the code

thanks in advance

Imports System.IO
Imports System.IO.Directory
Public Class DirScanner
Public Event ScanProgress(ByVal foldersScanned As Integer)
Private totalSize As Long
Private nFolders As String
Public Function ScanFolder(ByVal folder As Integer)
Dim file, dir As String
Dim FI As FileInfo
For Each file In Directory.GetFiles(folder)
FI =
New FileInfo(file)
totalSize = totalSize + FI.Length
Next
For Each dir In Directory.GetDirectoryRoot(folder)
nFolders = nFolders + 1
RaiseEvent ScanProgress(nFolders)
ScanFolder(dir)
Next
Return totalSize
End Function
End
Class

Public Class Form1
Dim WithEvents objDirScanner As DirScanner
Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
Dim folder As String
objDirScanner = New DirScanner()
folder =
"C:\Program files"
MsgBox("Your files occupy " & objDirScanner.ScanFolder(folder).ToString & " bytes on the drive")
End Sub
Private Sub objDirScanner_ScanProgress(ByVal foldersScanned As Integer) Handles objDirScanner.ScanProgress
Me.Text = "Scanned" & foldersScanned.ToString & " folders so far"
End Sub
End
Class

First things first, please don't post your code like that because it's very hard to read. Post it as plain text inside
 tags and the forum will format it.  Once we can read the code comfortably, we can see what might be wrong with it.

Hi,

I have spent some time sorting your code into a readable format but for future reference please can you follow jmcilhinney's lead and ensure that you load sample code with the correct formatting tags.

I have found 3 specific issues that you need to deal with. The main issue being point 3. I have also reloaded your class to point out where the issues are:-