Emulating disabled state.

edd1em

Programming Experience
3-5
Hello all, this is my first time posting on this here site.
I have a form with lots of text boxes, they can only be edited after the edit button has been clicked, otherwise, they should be disabled.
But, I was informed that the user will have trouble reading the information with the color scheme that MS provides for the disabled state.
So I have found that by setting:
ctrl.enabled=true
ctrl.locked=true
One should be able to set the fore/back colors as well as the font, and the user will not be able to edit the text.
Now the only problem that I am having is that ctrl.locked does not work, neither does me.txtCode.locked.....
Please help if you can,
Thank You
-Edward

This might help you, it sets the forecolor of a TextBox to white making it easier to see when the textbox is disabled.
VB.NET:
[size=2][/size][size=2][color=#0000ff]Private[/color][/size][size=2] [/size][size=2][color=#0000ff]Sub[/color][/size][size=2] ButtonDisable_Click([/size][size=2][color=#0000ff]ByVal[/color][/size][size=2] sender [/size][size=2][color=#0000ff]As[/color][/size][size=2] System.Object, [/size][size=2][color=#0000ff]ByVal[/color][/size][size=2] e [/size][size=2][color=#0000ff]As[/color][/size][size=2] System.EventArgs) [/size][size=2][color=#0000ff]Handles[/color][/size][size=2] ButtonDisable.Click

[/size][size=2][color=#0000ff]Me[/color][/size][size=2].TextBox1.Enabled = [/size][size=2][color=#0000ff]False[/color][/size]
[size=2][color=#0000ff]Me[/color][/size][size=2].TextBox1.ForeColor = System.Drawing.Color.White
[/size][size=2][color=#0000ff]End[/color][/size][size=2] [/size][size=2][color=#0000ff]Sub

[/color][/size]

I am not sure if you tested this code, it did not work for me.
I do not think you can set the fore/back colors of a disabled control.

Basicaly my question is how to set the locked property at run time.
-Edward