Tip Easy SELECT, INSERT, UPDATE, DELETE

Budius

Programming Experience
3-5
I'm fairly new to the whole object oriantation thing and as such I've been mostly been using it as if it were not; (the fact that the whole project is developed by me doesn't help). But as I'm getting more into it, and understanding it, I guess I'm getting to the point of actually creating my classes to make something I can re-use across multiple projects.

I've realised that even thou I do some damn complex select statements, every single database query I've done the past 3 years (vb.net or vb6) were the big 4 !
Therefore, nothing more natural than a nice sweet smooth easy to use Class to do it for me.

So this thread is only to share my Class with you guys, re-use it at your will, and for the more experienced ones, please.. tips, suggestions of changes, criticisms, ... all welcome!

I've tried to do it nicely comment, including those nice pop-ups when you're typing to use its methods or properties.

It's basically 2 methods and 2 properties, and the constructor
- you have to pass the connection string to the constructor
- Query method to send a SELECT statement to the database, writes the returned values in the provided datatable and returns True or False for success/fail
- InsertUpdateDelete method that (as the name say) executes any of those non-query statements and return True or False for success/fail
- ErrorMessage property that holds the error message from any failed method
- NumberOfRowsAffected property that holds the number of rows affected or returned by the last method

I guess it doesn't get simpler than that, if it is what you need .

usage example:
VB.NET:
        Dim TestDB As New DB("Password=ui;Persist Security Info=True;User ID=ui;Initial Catalog=MyInitialCatalog;Data Source=MyServerName")

If TestDB.InsertUpdateDelete("INSERT INTO table_name (column1, column2, column3) VALUES (value1, value2, value3)") Then