Easy Form load question

chadzilla

Programming Experience
1-3
Hey all.

I'm very new to VB.net, and the way everything works. I have a very simple question, so here goes.

I have a simple application that has 2 forms. On the first form the user inputs 2 numbers. I then pass those 2 numbers to the second form, and do some calculations and out put that data.

I have the code that does the calculations in the form load section on the second form. The user can then hit a button to take them back to the first form.

I am using

form1.visible = true
me.visible = false

to achieve that.

The program works just fine the first time because form2 loads when I set it to visible the first time, but the second time it doesn't work. I assume that is because form2 has already been loaded, and I am not unloading it by setting the visible property to false.

So here is my question. How do I unload the form so that the second time a user runs my program, the form load code executes?

Thanks for any help!

I think you might need a third form to tie both forms together. You'll have to call both forms from within this 3rd form and keep track of data being passed around there.

Very funny Makavelli ;) No, you don't need a third form.

Why do you need form Load to execute if you only hide/show forms. What is it you do in Load that have to be done again? Don't you think this could be done otherwise? A property? A method?

If there is a better way to do this instead of using form load..I am all ears.

What I am doing is taking 2 numbers from the first page, doing about 30 or so math calculations and then displaying them on the second page.

This is going to be budget software. The user inputs the lot cost and the appraisal value for a house. Then I do some calculations to tell them how much to budget for each item...IE framing, plumbing, electrical, yadda yadda yadda.

so how do you pass data now, yadda?